Governing Board

EWC is governed by a Board with members nominated by the Council of Europe and Norway. The Board is appointed by the Norwegian Ministry of Education and Science.


Haldis Margrete Holst (Norway)


Deputy General Secretary, Education International

Vice Chair:

Helga Kjellaug Hjetland (Norway)


Vice Chair of the Association for Employers in the Church of Norway and Church-related NGOs

Board Members:

Anders Bakken (Norway)


Researcher, Norwegian Centre for Welfare and Labour Reseacrh, Oslo and Akershus University College

Inga Bostad (Norway)


Director of the Norwegian Centre for Human Rights at the University of Oslo 

Michèle Eisenbarth (Luxembourg)


Ambassador, Permanent Representative to the Council of Europe

Jindřich Fryč (Czech Republic)


Secretary General of the Czech Ministry of Education, Youth and Sport

Chair of the Council of Europe Steering Committee for Educational Policy and Practice (CDPPE)

Snezana Samardžić-Marković (Serbia) 


Director General of Democracy, Council of Europe

Deputy Members:

Finn Aarsæther (Norway)


Vice Decan Oslo and Akershus University College of Applied Sciences

Tony M. Gallagher (United Kingdom)


Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Queens University Belfast

Bushra Ishaq (Norway)


Medical Doctor

Oksana Kovalenko (Ukraine)


Leading specialist, Department of general secondary and pre-school education, Ministry of Education and Science, Youth and Sport of Ukraine.

Former Board Members

Board member 2012-2015:

Luis Filipe Castro Mendes (Portugal), Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Portugal to the Council of Europe 

Board members 2010-2014:

Afshan Rafiq (Norway), Judge, the Norwegian Conciliation Board, former Member of Parliament

Theo Koritzinsky (Norway), Senior lecturer and researcher, Senior Centre, Oslo University College

Deputy member 2010-2014:

Sissel Østberg (Norway), Former Rector and Associate Professor, Oslo University College

Krzysztof Ostrowski (Poland), Vice Rector, Pultusk Academy of Humanities, Poland

Deputy member 2012-2014: 

Laila Bokhari (Norway), State Secretary at the Prime Minister's Office. Political, security and terrorism analyst 

Board Members 2008-2012:

Svein Lorentzen (Norway), Former Chair of the EWC Board, Professor at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology 

Gabriele Mazza (Italy), Former Director of Education and Languages, Council of Europe

Arif Mammadov (Azerbaijan), Permanent Representative of Azerbaijan to the Council of Europe

Viljana Lukas (Slovenia), Head of Office, Ministry of Education and Sport in Slovenia

Deputy Members 2008-2012:

César Birzea (Romania), Professor, Head of Department Faculty of Political Sciences, SNSPA

Arild Thorbjørnsen (Norway), Education Consultant

Board Members 2008-2010:

Hanne Sophie Greve (Vice Chair, Norway), Justice, Gulating High Court

Inger S. Enger (Norway), School Head

Theo Koritzinsky (Norway), Assistant Professor, reappointed 2010-2014

Guido Bellati Ceccoli (San Marino), Ambassador, Permanent Representative to the Council of Europe

Deputy Members 2008-2010:

Vera Stastna (Czech Republic), RnDr., Ministry of Education, Youth and Sport

Loveleen Rihel Brenna (Norway), President of The National Parents´ Committee for Primary and Lower Secondary Education

The European Wergeland Centre


Ms Holst graduated as a teacher in 1983, after majoring in English and Physical Education. She has worked as a teacher in primary, lower secondary and upper secondary schools. Ms Holst has been active in the Norwegian teachers’ union for many years. She has been a union representative at all local, regional and national levels. In 1997, Ms Holst became an elected full time regional leader in her union. In 2001, she became Vice-President of Norsk Lærerlag (NL). In 2002 she became an Executive Board member of Union of Education Norway and was Vice President from 2010 through 2012. During this period Ms Holst has also represented Norway on the European Trade Union Committee on Education, and been elected Vice President from Europe on the Executive Board of Education International.

Ms Holst is currently Deputy General Secretary of Education International which represents organisations of teachers and other education employees across the globe. It is the world’s largest federation of unions, representing thirty million education employees in about four hundred organisations in one hundred and seventy countries and territories, across the globe.

Karl Johans gate 2,
NO 0154 Oslo, Norway

Karl Johans gate 2,
NO 0154 Oslo, Norway

PHONE: +47 21 08 24 10